Friday, October 30, 2009

Game Time!!!!

I love the weekends!!!! Football, football, and more football! :) My weekend officially starts on Thursday which is awesome! Well... my first day at St. Michael went so well! I learned so much! It is quite an experience and much, MUCH different than the nursing home. The flu shot clinic also went wonderful! There were TONS of people there. People bombarded us when we got out of our vehicles. It started at 8:00 but we had to be there at 7:15 to set up. Well... people were angry and freaking out. Some had been there since 6:00 and some since 3:30. I mean why?? It didn't start until 8. I think they were afraid we were going to run out. It was sad because so many people desperately wanted those shots. I felt so bad for them. One lady said that once they opened the doors to let people in that people were pushing, shoving, and acting CRAZY!! Can you believe that? It's like the day after Thanksgiving sales or something, haha. I was incredibly nervous about the shots. We had to give them to each other first. Brook gave me mine and I gave hers. It wasn't bad. By the 3rd shot, I was a pro! haha Tyler said he was so proud of me. I was proud of myself. It wasn't bad at all!!! I'm ready to give them all the time now! haha I make it quick and easy! IM injections are a breeze!!! ;)

Soo... tonight is Tyler's game against Drew Central. Last year we played them at Drew Central. It was a GREAT game. Ty had 3 touchdowns and 160 something yards. Maybe that can happen again tonight?? :) (hope so) He keeps saying he is ready for football to be over. He is really disappointed in how the season has turned out and feels he won't be able to play college ball. But of course I told him he can't think that. He has to stay positive! Not that I myself am very good at being positive! Next week is senior night! So sad. He says he isn't even sad about it but once again he is a MAN! haha they never express their feelings. He'll definately be sad next week I'm sure.

Well I'm off to finish doing some things and start getting ready for the game! Much love :)

Monday, October 26, 2009

Ahh... the stress of nursing school!!

Well I had my 5th test today. I definately should have studied more! I made a 78. Definately not happy. It's my first, what I would consider, bad grade. Medications and Fluids and Electrolytes are not the easiest thing to learn about even though Meds are much more interesting. Well its over and there is nothing I can do about it except study my butt off for the next one. I will not get that low again.. no more!! An 80 is as low as I can tolerate. I'm currently working on my care plan! ugh.. I DO NOT LIKE CARE PLANS!! They are hard and especially since we are at St. Michael's now. But I am excited for our first clinical day there tomorrow. It's just different and going to take some adjusting. Thursday we are doing a flu shot clinic at the fairgrounds!! Yay!! I'm so excited. My first time to give IM injections. I'm nervous but excited! By the end of the day I'll be a pro :) We get to give them on each other too.... that's the scary part! But at least I'll have my seasonal flu and H1N1 flu shot! I'm kinda nervous because I've never gotten a flu shot before.. because I've never had the flu (knock on wood)!! But it'll be an experience!

Tyler is getting ready for his 2nd to last football game. I'm sure its bittersweet even though he don't act like it. But afterall he is a man! haha. He and I are wonderful as usual! Better and better each day! He is trying to take care of me and I try to take care of him! haha so sweet!

Well I better get back to this care plan!! Wish me luck tomorrow and Thursday! :)

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Sleepless

Yes I am up very early! Last night I was dragged into going to see Paranormal Activity. Ok, first of all.... I DON'T LIKE SCARY MOVIES AT ALL!!! I get scared on movies that aren't supposed to be scary. And according to everyone who had seen it, it was the scariest movie ever. Well of course Tyler (seeing as how he LOVES scary movies) insisted we go with Adam and Kaison. I almost backed out and couldn't go see it BUT I managed to pull myself together and go. We had a little thing going seeing how many minutes I'd last. Tyler- 5 mins. Me- 10 mins. Kaison- 12 mins. Adam- 30 mins. Needless to say, I made it the whole movie somehow!! It was VERY scary! Wow!!! Certain parts I couldn't watch and i hid in tyler's shoulder, haha. If you like a GREAT scare... go see this. Beware!!-- I didn't sleep much last night. And most everyone I know in Texarkana didn't either! haha Yes, it's that freaky! I have officially got my halloween scare and I am done with scary movies for about a year. Normally Tyler doesn't get scared during scary movies. But he did last night. haha it was pretty funny!! Ask him where he slept!!!!! :) (he's gonna be so mad)

So I just thought I had to share just how freaked out I was and why I am up so early. I only went to bed 6 hours ago. And much of it wasn't sleeping. It was me laying with my eyes wide open fighting my sleep. Well I'm gonna try to go back to sleep now that it is daylight, haha! Night night

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

I'm Back!! :)

Well I decided to start this back up since I've been so private forever!! haha... I'm sure you'll be proud and excited! I just need to see Stephanie's new one. Somehow I need to figure out her new one and she able to add me.

Anyways... today was horrible. I had clinicals. We have to do something called Care Plans and they are horrible!!!! UGH! I hate them. They are plans of care of how we are going to take care of our patient. Well so far I've done three of them. Apparently they aren't good enough and my teacher pretty much told me that. I was really upset. Also today, we had to check off on assessment. Well, she made me incredibly nervous when she came in the room and my mind went blank. Assessment is an important part of a nurse's job. So I thought I had been doing pretty good. And I had been... I just got so nervous and froze! So my grade from today for clinical probably won't be very good and that really bothers me. I cried and cried earlier when I got home. I started questioning whether or not nursing is really for me. So of course I text tyler and he was like everything is fine, you're only having a bad day. I have faith that you'll be a great nurse and I know this is what you want to do. It was so sweet. He always knows the right thing to say and the right words. I love it/him. So needless to say, I took a nap earlier and after waking up I felt much better. So here I am studying and writing on here. I'm excited to get this going again! I just don't know anyone on here :(

Well I'll definately be updating more often!! Love all